November 29, 2017 at 4:00 p.m. in the Museum of the Library of the First President of the Republic of Kazakhstan - Elbasy, a solemn ceremony of awarding the laureates of the republican competition "Til zhanashyry - 2017" will be held.

Every year this high public award is presented to Kazakh and foreign citizens who have made a significant contribution to the development and popularization of the state language. In particular, it is awarded to those who volunteer:

promotes the Kazakh language in the media, literature and art;

develops and implements educational and cultural and educational programs to improve the level of knowledge of the Kazakh language in Kazakhstan and abroad;

teaches students and schoolchildren the state language using innovative and original author's teaching methods;

conducts scientific research on topical issues of linguistics, history and ethnography;

prepares and publishes printed publications aimed at the development of the Kazakh language and culture;

organizes cultural events aimed at expanding the use of the Kazakh language in various spheres of society;

sponsors events that promote the development of the Kazakh language and culture.

The competition was established in 2007 by the Til Zhanashyry Public Association. Nominees are awarded every two years. In 2017, the ceremony will take place for the sixth time.

The selection of nominees is made by a special commission consisting of prominent public figures, scientists and philanthropists.The commission is headed by the honorary chairman of the public association "Til zhanashyry" - the head of the Office of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan, the acting director of the Library of the First President of the Republic of Kazakhstan - Elbasy Kasymbekov Makhmud Bazarkulovich.

Prominent foreign scientists who devoted themselves to the study of the Kazakh language became the first laureates of the Tіl zhanashyry competition. Among them are scientists from Turkey, South Korea, Germany, Russia, and the USA.

In subsequent years, scientists, teachers, writers, poets, civil servants, public figures, journalists, people who showed sincere concern for the language, made a significant contribution to its development, patrons of the arts who sponsored events to support the state language were nominated for the award. and Kazakh culture.